Welwyn Garden City

Herts. UK

The world’s second Garden City was founded by Ebenezer Howard in 1920 and designed by Louis De Soissons. It was subsequently designated as a New Town under the 1946 New Towns Act.


1919- Land purchased
1920- Second Garden City Ltd founded
1948- Designated a New Town

Original master planner and any other critical master planning, design and architects:

Second Garden City Ltd’s Architect and Planner was Louis De Soissons.
Its Finance Director was C. B. Purdom, and its Secretary was Frederic Osborn.

Architectural Style/qualities:

Neo-Georgian town centre. Mix of residential styles..

Settlement Size:

  • Aproximately 3,460 acres (1400 hectares acres)

Population: 46,619 (2011 Census)

Other notable features that reflect Garden City Principles:

  • Separate factory sites, like Letchworth
  • Cultural activities important for community development – Festival hall built.
  • Mixed-tenure homes and housing types that are affordable for ordinary people;a strong local jobs offer in the Garden City itself, with a variety of employment opportunities within easy commuting distance of homes
  • Strong local cultural, recreational and shopping facilities in walkable neighbourhood
  • Integrated and accessible transport systems – with a series of settlements linked by rapid transport providing a full range of employment opportunities
  • Beautifully and imaginatively designed homes with gardens, combining the very best of town and country living to create healthy homes in vibrant communities

Find out more:

Welwyn Hatfield District Council
Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council Offices
The Campus,
Welwyn Garden City,
01707 357000

Welwyn Garden Heritage Trust
c/o 60 Bridge Road, Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, AL8 6UR